“You’re only an atheist because…”

Ah the age old theist argument,”You’re only an atheist because *insert ridiculous claim here*”. This is a argument type that I’m sure almost every atheist who is verbal about atheism has had thrown at them. I know I have had to deal with multiple incarnations of this absurd argument, some even coming from religious people who I would have classed as quite intelligent. The sheer level of foolishness required to actually make and actually believe this argument is baffling but I shall address a few of the version that I have personally had to deal with since becoming much more vocal about my atheism.

 

 

“You’re only an atheist because you hate god!”

This is one of the more common versions I have had tossed my way, especially considering my tendency to describe the character of god (that being that he is an evil, homophobic, misogynistic, genocidal, insecure and jealous psychopath) based on what is stated in the bible.

Now despite my opinions about the character of god this does not mean I hate him, no more than I “hate” characters like Voldemort or Joffrey Baratheon. As far as I’m concerned god is most likely fictional and as such I can not “hate” him, at least not in the same way I hate people like Hitler or Stalin.

 

 

“You’re only an atheist because you love to sin!”

This is one of those asinine claims made by some theists, on par with unfair and insulting claims like “all atheists are evil”. Being an atheist does not all of a sudden mean that I want to “sin”. Firstly sin is not a real thing, it’s simply part of an immoral, supernatural “justice system” designed to help control the deluded masses.

Even if we were to conclude that sin is an actual thing, this claim still does not hold much weight. Most atheist are very good people. In fact in my experience, especially in the past few weeks, many atheists are nicer and more accepting people than most fundamentalist christians. And whilst you may believe all atheists want to do is to disobey your god and sin, believing something doesn’t make it true.

 

 

“You’re only an atheist because you blame god for your problems!”

This is just blatantly false. I don’t blame god for anything, it would be pointless to blame a being I don’t believe in for any kind of problems I may or may not have. I face, head on, any problems I have and I deal with any mistakes I make. There is very little else to say on the topic. I blame god for my problems as much as you blame a leprechaun.

 

 

I have never been presented with a compelling “You’re only an atheist because…” statement, so I’d like to provide one to anyone who feels compelled to use this argument; “I’m only an atheist because I don’t believe in a god.” That’s it. There is no hidden desire to kill or harm people, no carefully shielded hatred and in no way do I blame any god for my problems or the problems of the world.

 

-Alan

4 responses to ““You’re only an atheist because…”

  1. Pingback: My Hates Me Because I’m An Atheist | Black Atheists

  2. Pingback: My Family Hates Me Because I’m An Atheist | Black Atheists

  3. I just found this blog site . I am in the closet with some people and out with others. I grew up attending church but things never made any sense to me. The Old Testament is ghastly. I really started studying the bible to determine the biblical basis for tithing. There was none. The bible is a book of stories. Religion is used to justify brutalizing and oppressing others. Blacks need to stop waiting for a miracle and get busy. Religion helps a few members of a religious elite. Look at Eddie Long and Ceflo Dollar. You are to trust these
    clowns. They have brained washed their followers to the extent that they don’t even have to conceal how they spend the church members hard earned cash.
    I can’t believe how brainwashed most people are. In all of my years in church I have never seen anyone be healed. When a Christian dies people say that it was the lords will. It always seems to be his will that those who are seriously ill should die. I have seen good people flunk out of school as they wait on The Lord . There is no master plan. Randomness rules our lives. We must seize the day.

Leave a Reply

